

**Date:** January 28, 2025 **To:** Board of Directors

From: Peggy Heeg, Human Resources and Governance (HR&G) Committee

Chair

**Subject:** Election of Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Ratification of Officers of

**ERCOT** 

### **Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors**

**ERCOT Board of Directors Meeting Date:** February 4, 2025

Item No.: 9.2.1

#### Issue:

Election of the CEO and ratification of Officers of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT).

#### **Background/History:**

Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the Amended and Restated Bylaws of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (Bylaws) require that the ERCOT Board of Directors (Board) elect the CEO of ERCOT and ratify the remaining ERCOT Officers for terms not to exceed one year. Section 8.2 further provides that officers may be re-elected or reratified for consecutive terms without limitation and that all officers shall hold office until their successors are chosen and qualified or until their earlier resignation or removal. Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that "[t]he CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT."

At its meeting on February 3, 2025, the HR&G Committee will consider the election of CEO and ratification of Officers as recommended by Pablo Vegas, ERCOT President and CEO.

#### **Key Factors Influencing Issue:**

- The Bylaws require the election of the ERCOT CEO and ratification of Officers at least annually.
- ERCOT must have a CEO and Officers to perform its statutory and corporate functions.

#### Conclusion/Recommendation:

The HR&G Committee will consider recommending whether, at its February 4, 2025 Board meeting, the Board should elect Pablo Vegas as President and CEO of ERCOT, while employed for a term not to exceed one year, and should ratify the following ERCOT Officers for the 2025 year, while employed for a term not to exceed one year:

Senior Vice President and Chief Digital Officer – Jayapal Parakkuth; Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer – Woody Rickerson;



Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Chief Risk Officer – Richard Scheel;

Senior Vice President, Regulatory Policy, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer, and Corporate Secretary – Chad V. Seely;

Vice President, Security and Chief Information Security Officer – Drew Bonser; Vice President, Commercial Operations – Keith Collins;

Vice President, Legal and Compliance, and Assistant Corporate Secretary – Brandon Gleason;

Vice President, System Planning and Weatherization – Kristi Hobbs;

Vice President, Public Affairs – Gilbert Hughes;

Vice President, Enterprise Risk and Strategy – Adam Martinez;

Vice President, Human Resources – Mara Spak;

Vice President, Dev Ops and Grid Transformation – Venkat Tirupati; and

Vice President, System Operations – Dan Woodfin



# ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, pursuant to Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the *Amended and Restated Bylaws* of *Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc.* (Bylaws), the Board of Directors (Board) of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT) shall elect the ERCOT Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and ratify other ERCOT Officers for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

WHEREAS, Section 7.1 of the Bylaws provides in part that the ERCOT CEO shall serve as President of ERCOT; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it desirable and in the best interest of ERCOT to elect a President and CEO and ratify other ERCOT Officers for the 2025 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Board hereby elects Pablo Vegas to serve as ERCOT President and CEO for a term while employed not to exceed one year; and

RESOLVED FURTHER, the Board hereby ratifies the following other ERCOT Officers for the 2025 year for a term while employed not to exceed one year:

- Senior Vice President and Chief Digital Officer Jayapal Parakkuth;
- Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Woody Rickerson;
- Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Chief Risk Officer Richard Scheel;
- Senior Vice President, Regulatory Policy, General Counsel, Chief Compliance Officer, and Corporate Secretary Chad V. Seely;
- Vice President, Security and Chief Information Security Officer Drew Bonser;
- Vice President, Commercial Operations Keith Collins;
- Vice President, Legal and Compliance, and Assistant Corporate Secretary Brandon Gleason;
- Vice President, System Planning and Weatherization Kristi Hobbs;
- Vice President, Public Affairs Gilbert Hughes;
- Vice President, Enterprise Risk and Strategy Adam Martinez;
- Vice President, Human Resources Mara Spak;
- Vice President, Dev Ops and Grid Transformation Venkat Tirupati; and
- Vice President, System Operations Dan Woodfin



## **CORPORATE SECRETARY'S CERTIFICATE**

I, Chad V. Seely, Corporate Secretary 4, 2025 meeting, the Board passed a r		
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have here	unto set my hand this _	day of February, 2025.
Chad V. Seely Corporate Secretary		