

**Date:** January 28, 2025 **To:** Board of Directors

From: Peggy Heeg, Human Resources and Governance (HR&G) Committee

Chair

Subject: Ratification of Officers of Texas Electric Market Stabilization Funding M

LLC

# Issue for the ERCOT Board of Directors

**ERCOT Board of Directors Meeting Date:** February 4, 2025

Item No.: 9.2.2

#### Issue:

Ratification of the officers of Texas Electric Market Stabilization Funding M LLC (TEMSFM).

## **Background/History:**

On October 27, 2021, TEMSFM was formed, with Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT) as its sole member, to support ERCOT's obligations under the bonds subsequently issued pursuant to Texas Utilities Code Chapter 39 Subchapter M. Pursuant to the *Amended and Restated Limited Liability Company Agreement of Texas Electric Market Stabilization Funding M LLC* (Company Agreement) dated November 12, 2021, the following persons are designated by ERCOT in its capacity as sole member to be the initial officers of TEMSFM:

President and Chief Executive Officer – Chad V. Seely; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer – Sean Taylor; and Vice President and Treasurer – Leslie Swanson (formerly, Wiley).

Mr. Taylor subsequently retired in October of 2024 and Richard Scheel was promoted to Senior Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, and Chief Risk Officer. At the October 10, 2024 ERCOT Board of Directors meeting, the Board appointed Mr. Scheel as a non-independent manager and officer of TEMSFM to fill the vacancies created by Mr. Taylor's resignation. On December 11, 2024, at the annual meeting of the managers and officers of TEMSFM, the managers of TEMSFM re-elected Mr. Seely, Mr. Scheel, and Ms. Swanson as officers.

Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the Amended and Restated Bylaws of Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (Bylaws) require that the ERCOT Board of Directors (Board) ratify ERCOT officers for terms not to exceed one year. Section 8.2 further provides that officers may be re-elected or re-ratified for consecutive terms without limitation and that all officers shall hold office until their successors are chosen and qualified or until their earlier resignation or removal. While not required by the Company Agreement, ERCOT Legal staff has recommended that the Board similarly ratify the



officers of TEMSFM on a periodic basis, consistent with best practice and the requirement for annual ratification of ERCOT officers.

At its meeting on February 3, 2025, the HR&G Committee will consider the ratification of officers of TEMSFM.

#### **Key Factors Influencing Issue:**

- The Bylaws require the ratification of ERCOT officers at least annually.
- ERCOT Legal staff has recommended that the officers of TEMSFM be ratified on a periodic basis.
- TEMSFM can have officers to perform its statutory and corporate functions.

## **Conclusion/Recommendation:**

The HR&G Committee will consider recommending whether the Board, at its February 4, 2025 Board meeting, should ratify the following officers of TEMSFM:

President and Chief Executive Officer – Chad V. Seely; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer – Richard Scheel; and Vice President and Treasurer – Leslie Swanson.



# ELECTRIC RELIABILITY COUNCIL OF TEXAS, INC. BOARD OF DIRECTORS RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, on October 27, 2021, Texas Electric Market Stabilization Funding M LLC (TEMSFM) was formed, with Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc. (ERCOT) as its sole member, to support ERCOT's obligations under the bonds subsequently issued pursuant to Texas Utilities Code Chapter 39 Subchapter M;

WHEREAS, pursuant to Sections 8.2 and 4.10(c) of the *Amended and Restated Bylaws* of *Electric Reliability Council of Texas, Inc.* (Bylaws), the Board of Directors (Board) of ERCOT shall ratify ERCOT officers for a term while employed not to exceed one year;

WHEREAS, ERCOT Legal staff has recommended that the Board ratify the officers of TEMSFM on a periodic basis, consistent with best practice and the requirement for annual ratification of ERCOT officers; and

WHEREAS, the Board deems it desirable and in the best interest of ERCOT to ratify the officers of TEMSFM;

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Board hereby ratifies the following officers of TEMSFM:

President and Chief Executive Officer – Chad V. Seely; Vice President and Chief Financial Officer – Richard Scheel; and Vice President and Treasurer – Leslie Swanson.

# **CORPORATE SECRETARY'S CERTIFICATE**

i, Chad Seely, Corporate Secretary of 2025 meeting, the Board passed a mot	,	,
IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereu	into set my hand this	day of February, 2025.
Chad Seely Corporate Secretary		